Voltaire's Story and Drabbles Journal
All dates on PH Standard Time.

Started on: Nov. 3
Current Streak: 1
Total Posts (November): 6

Current Project: Good Shepherd (title pending)
[Image: tumblr_p5tzuvjf3j1wsnmapo4_540.gif]
MORPHIC:
DANIEL [SCRAFTY] X GALEN [WIP]
A/N: this is the backstory, which is the main inspiration for my story for WaR (Adventure, Current Day, Man-Mon Hybrid) i believe this is my first time writing about an existing folklore so im lowkey excited tbh

Title: Pending
November 3

The fields of grass were newly blessed, and now ready for its first resident.

The elders believed that not only the land must be blessed, but a guardian must be given, in order to guide the incoming souls to the afterlife and to drive malicious spirits away. After all, this was a sanctuary, a resting place for everyone.

They said that the first to be buried in the sanctuary becomes the guardian. It was a noble task, surely a job that  could guarantee a place in heaven, or elysium, or a great fate after reincarnation.

But the guardian is tasked to stay. Forever. Until each soul has risen from their earthly bodies and has moved on into the afterlife. Only then the guardian is relieved of their task. Is it a curse?

The elders advised the caretakers of the sanctuary  to make its first burial the corpse of a dog. They are, after all, a best friend and most loyal and protective of them all.

But just beside the fences of the grasslands of the sanctuary, a little boy, barely five years old, and his dog, a cream-colored terrier, died of a wasting disease. They needed to be buried immediately, in order to stop the disease from infecting anyone else.

And the parents are tired and wanted to give their child his rest.

So the child and his dog were buried at the sanctuary. It was a quick procession, a quiet and bleak event. The parents got their wishes, the caretakers had their guardian.